laurentian university, sudbury, ontario
september 2017 – current

bsc honours in genetics, minor in chemistry
university of manitoba, winnipeg, manitoba,
september 2012 – may 2016
gpa: 4.46/4.50 with first class honours

steam + communications assistant, university of manitoba
october 2016 – june 2017
assisted the faculty of science’s communications officer and artist-in-residence in a variety of outreach campaigns and events

science communication coordinator, canadian science publishing
may 2016 – september 2016
summer position in the communications department of canada’s largest not-for-profit science publisher

science and technology reporter, the manitoban
october 2014 – april 2016
science writer for the university of manitoba’s student newspaper

teaching assistant, university of manitoba
september 2014 – december 2015
laboratory ta for biol 1020 – biology 1

undergraduate researcher, university of manitoba
summer 2015
studied the molecular biology of Legionella pneumophila under dr. ann karen brassinga

summer 2014
studied the epigenetics of neurogenesis in neural stem cells under dr. mojgan rastegar

summer 2013
studied muscle precursor cell activation in Danio reiro under dr. judy anderson

student reviewer, mcgraw-hill ryerson

june 2011 – february 2012

reviewed potential entries for a high school english textbook

radio host, 96.7 cklu
september 2017-present
host and producer of flurry, a music show exploring how sonic textures and soundscapes can enter the tactile and emotional through genres like post-rock, ambient, and dreamy indie.

campground enviro, winnipeg folk festival
july 2017
volunteer on the crew responsible for maintaining campground sexual safety, sustainability, and cleanliness during the 2017 folk festival

student coordinator, science rendezvous university of manitoba
april 2016 – may 2016
organized and carried out various tasks leading up to and during the annual science carnival on may 7th, 2016

umsu representative, university of manitoba students’ association
may 2015 – october 2015
elected to represent the science students’ association on umsu council

new student orientation volunteer, university of manitoba volunteer program
september 2015 – presentation facilitator team captain
september 2014 – communications team captain
eptember 2013 – orientation team leader

festival volunteer, winnipeg fringe festival
july 2012 – Volunteer Team Leader
july 2010, 2011 – Volunteer Ticket Seller

video editing and production, copyediting, science writing, social media posting and metrics, google analytics, communications, presentation, leadership, storytelling, interviewing, transcribing, marking, running contests, demonstration and teaching

++science skills
planning and designing experiments, immunostaining, bacterial culture, plasmid prep, transformation, cloning, gel extraction, dna precipitation, pcr, staining, agarose gel electrophoresis, rna isolation, qrt-pcr, sds-page, elisa, microscopy, protein purification, muscle fiber isolation, spectrophotometry, java, western blotting, rna interference, cell counting, tissue culture, tissue sectioning

++awards and honours
sshrc joseph-armand bombardier cgs master’s scholarship – 2017
ontario graduate scholarship – 2017 (declined)
university of manitoba outreach award (as part of the faculty of science outreach committee) – 2016
university of manitoba president’s scholar society – 2012-2016
university of manitoba leaders of tomorrow society – 2012-2016
university of manitoba faculty of science dean’s honour list – 2012 – 2016
university of manitoba president’s scholarship – 2012 – 2016
edna s. hollier scholarship – 2014, 2015
umsu scholarship – 2013, 2014, 2015
nserc undergraduate student research award – 2014, 2015
bacoor association of manitoba scholarship – 2014
dr. a.w. hogg undergraduate scholarship – 2014
university of manitoba financial aid & awards merit scholarship – 2014
lorna irene eggertson scholarship – 2013
university of manitoba undergraduate research award -2013
university of manitoba leadership entrance award – 2012

canadian science writers’ association – 2016 – present